america bound…

The title of the this post says it all. Things have gotten a little crazy around here. As most of you know I was supposed to return back to the states on June 1st. Well at the beginning of March I decided I was going to come home a little early and surprise my little sister Hayley and be home for her graduation. So when I changed in March I was supposed to be home May 14th. Which was only like 2 1/2 weeks early. But little did I know the Lord had different plans. Yesterday I was informed that I will be back in America early next week. As I write this I am looking at my belongings that are beginning to pile up to be packed. My heart is so overwhelmed. I prepared myself to say bye 3 weeks from now not 3 days for now. Am I excited to return home? Of course. Am I sad to be leaving? Yes. This time in Africa has not been so easy for me. But the Lord has stretched me, taught me so many things, and revealed himself to me in a mighty mighty way. 

The reason behind this early departure back to America is because my tourist visa of 90 days expires Tuesday to stay in Kenya. So its just not logical nor does it make sense to go through the huge hassle and pay the money to get a new one just to stay 2 1/2 more weeks once it expires. So this early homecoming is not because I choose this its saving the company money and its strictly strategic. 

So as I am closing up this chapter of life in Kenya, Africa all I can think to say is how thankful I am that I was given the opportunity to experience everything that I have experienced. Just some of the things I am thankful for: My supervisor Chris and his wife Jamie and their 5 children. They have given up so much time and really poured into me and my team. They have been such a blessing. My team. My hands on team and the 2 journey girls that have so graciously accepted us and loved us. Kasey, is a wonderful roommate and brings SO many laughs. Brindley, has the best words of encouragement. Amy, Jesus reveals himself to me through her humility. Emily, is someone I can just be real with and a wonderful housemate. Ester, her heart for the Kenyans challenges me to love everyone. There are many other things that I can list. 

So as I spend my last 2 days here in Africa im thankful.

One thought on “america bound…

  1. It is sad to see you leaving.it wil cost our happyness but one day we shall meet not only on Earth but also in heaven.Dont forget Africa ,wish you save journy and blessings from God.Bye bye?

Leave a comment